Second July Blog.

Second July Blog.

Exploration of the Soul.

Where is the wind that blows in the mind?
Where does the soul reside?
What do we know of time infinite?
Why, when sought, do we hide?

Seeking love’s dream leaves an ache in the heart.
Searching through time in repose,
Listening to voices that speak now and then,
Catching streamers meandering close.

Speaking of hearts where passion then seeks
A lover, who opens your soul,
Clings to the innermost feelings deep down,
Like the crumbs in an empty bowl.

Hunting a soul mate, on Earth’s lonely plain,
Gathering strange beasts in a cage,
Setting them free, realising the hurt
When they burden our core with their rage.

When Gods rain passion down on our souls,
We scream and bow down in despair,
Searching the cavernous realms of beyond,
Finding peace and content unaware.

So we look on, unfocused, afeared,
Trying our hardest to find
Peace and tranquility with someone to love,
A soul mate to cushion the mind.

Copyright. Evelyn J. Steward. July, 2017.

 

(Photo:-Many years ago now, 1987, before I lost them both.)

 

Observation.

Recently sitting in the entrance of an out-patients department at a local hospital, made me think.

People coming in and going out are a sight to behold. Some striding purposefully, others with canes or little trollies to help them walk, slowly. In, out, talking, silent! Worth pondering on.

I thought about what their lives might be. What they do/once did for a living? Where they come from? Starting to think about stories behind their personas!

One gentleman, very tall, came in, went to reception and very quickly returned towards the doorway and, seeing me with an empty coffee cup in my hand asked, would I like it put in the bin. My reply was how kind and thank you, very much. Some manners still abound, it would seem.

Perhaps people are more aware in such places? Though, it has to be said, some are so engrossed in their health problems or those of people they accompany that they fail to see others with problems that may need a touch of kindness. But I suppose we all do that from time to time. More engrossed in our own problems, than seeing others in difficulty.

Not me, I was not really worried about divesting myself of an encumbent, such as a empty coffee cup. Was just holding on to the cup until I could get up and bin it myself, about five steps across the hallway. Though kindness never goes amiss.

At least I had time to purchase a cup of coffee. And here was a probllem. I had NO IDEA that the old £5 notes were no longer LEGAL TENDER! When did that happen?
The lady at the counter brought my fiver back saying she could not accept it!
Luckily I had a tenner with me. O.K. So when are they changing the £10 nots to ‘plastic’ ones then? I hope they let us know, because I missed it with the
£5 notes!!!!!!!!

Now I have to go down to my bank, which is not going to be easy, to hopefully get it changed to a new ‘plastic’ note. Luckily, I do have something to pay in, two birds, and all that! But still, not an easy task. Not these days.

So, at some point in time I will mull on these thoughts further. It was just an observance, more to pass unused time, more than anything else.

So take care, my friends, until next time.

Evelyn.

6 thoughts on “Second July Blog.

  1. Not too bad Jenanita01, having my eyes checked up, again. Gave me droos, new ones, he said, freebees!. Only to find, when I got home, they were the same as last time, Grrr! Is not medication logged in your file?
    Thank you, pleased you liked the poem. Some things do make us think about things. Bless.
    Evelyn.

  2. Enjoyed your poem as always, Evelyn. Your philosophical edge is still making me think. Where is the photo you mentioned? Sorry to hear you had to spend time at hospital and the drops don’t work well. About the fiver, could you try using it next stop? They may have a more ‘redeeming’ policy. Thank you so much for sharing your lovely heart with us… and please continue!

    • Thank you ver much Carolyn, Bless you. So pleased you liked the poem. The photo got caught up somehere , my apologise. I have since found out that yes, the fiver was called in some time ago. I really did not know the old ones had been called in. Such is life, I guess. Never mind. Will find some way to get to the bank soon. I seldom keep cash around, so why would I know?
      Thank you, Bless.
      Evelyn.

      • Thank you, It was my eye check up. Blind in one but also very dry in both eyes. Uncomfortble as well as painful, but we all have our crosses to bear.
        Will shortly be putting up a new blog, an old short story of mine.
        Boess.
        Evelyn.

Leave a Reply

