First July Blog

First July Blog.

What If?

So, the world turns,
And we have to turn with it
Or remain steeped in the past,
Losing ground,
Ever trying to catch up,
Never quite making
The grade.
But, here is a thought,
Suppose, just
Just for an instant
In real time,
Progress, as we see it,
Is not the great stride
We think it to be?
What if, what we have now
Is better than
What we may get
In the future?
Then the remainers
Will have
The last laugh.
The futurists may
Excelerate
Into oblivion,
Uncontrolled,
Eradicated in an
Extreme world
Of undesirability!

Copyright. Evelyn J. Steward. July, 2016.
The JULY Journey.

First of July has brought wind and sun,
Third July, sunny, still a bit breezy,, but nice to see the sunshine.
Well, here we are people, for those of us in the Northern hemisphere, we are starting the downward slope towards the dreaded winter.

With hardly a decent amount of summer sunshine to call our names, how will we get through if we have a severe winter? That, my friends, is the big question. I, for one, need warm weather. I am a LEO, I need a certain amount of warmth in the summer to keep me going through the long, dark days, with cloudy skies, striking winds, chill autumns.

I know I tend to go on a bit about the weather. But, I am English, and this i what we do. Especially when it does not go the way it ought. This is my second tough year, and I think I, nay we all, deserve some warm or dare I say it, hot, sunny days during the few precious months that we deign to call our summer.

Everything, tree, shrub, plant alike, has done its burgeoning. Is settled into the state of flowering, ripening fruit, corn, squashes, etc., so it does not need to ‘push’ ahead any more. In fact, I have already seen leaves skittering down from some of the early-leafed trees. A sure sign we are going towards the downhill slope, faster than we might like.
******

I have no young children ready to enjoy the mid-July/August to first week in September, school holidays. But, it has always amazed me that we send ‘our’ children into the holuday season in almost the eighth month of the year???

There must be a reason for this! I suppose, if it concerned me more ( remembering that when my child attended school, computers were not around, as they are now!) I would Google to seek the answer. >>>. Is it because it fits into some amorphous scheme, thought of in long bygone years? Times perhaps more suitable to places with better climes, like Rome, perhaps, France even? We were conquered by Normans, and Normandy is after all, where the weather is probably more inherently milder than in the British mainland. {I would appreciate an awnswer, if you have one). It is one of those curiosities that, for no other reason than sheer nosiness about trivia, that take up nano seconds of my day.

Have great holidays, or summers. Take very good care, wherever you are.

Evelyn.

4 thoughts on “First July Blog

  1. Thanks for a great read and also generating some thoughts just before I go to work. I have a feeling that most people would go on family holidays in the summer months and that learning time was lost, this may be why school started in September when the weather started to turn colder. Nowadays though with global warming, September seems a lot milder.

    • You could be right Jan. thanks for your comment. I often phylosophise ( is that that how it us spelt?). Just for the sake if it, ha ha! Thank you fi reading. I hope more posts appeal to you.
      Bless. Evelyn

  2. I agree about the weather. Far too wet and miserable at the moment. All my soft fruit will be ruined. It used to be May was a hot month when I was a teenager, but as a child the summers seemed longer and sunnier and dryer. I can’t say I believe in global warming, or if there is it seems to have bypassed the great British summer!

    • When I was young, summers seemed longer, yes, and sunnier. I remember growing up with beautiful June sunshine, showers but still warm in July, with August mostly nice and September mild and colourful, ir is that my memory playing tricks on an old woman? But the last few years it seems cooler, damper. I di remembef August three years ago having a hot spell. But then, we always complain about the weather. September and October in Ontario in the 1990s was wonderful sunshine. And one time snow, on third week in October, Ha! Thank you for reading, Bless. Evelyn.

Leave a Reply

