Historical Fiction Cover of the Month – June

My first visit to this blogger. Like the choices and comments going with. Evelyn.

Dodging Arrows... a (mainly) Medieval Blog

It doesn’t seem possible that we are halfway through 2016 already and so, fairly obviously, we’ve arrived at June. So what have I got for you this month?  I have rejected the usual plethora of women in red/blue dresses and, bearing in mind that this page remains a bare upper torso-free zone, here are the covers that have taken my fancy.

serpentsword2

First up is a book that I think I mentioned in despatches last year: Matthew Harffy’s The Serpent Sword. It has been re-published and, in my view, the cover is even better than before.

It’s a matter of taste, I suppose: this new version is more stark and in your face, and consequently less subtle than the original, but I like it better. It shows off the helmet and sword in more vivid detail, giving the whole cover more light and energy.

GirlinglassTower

My second choice is Elizabeth Fremantle’s

View original post 323 more words

Leave a Reply

