Ely in the morning – a fab day out.

Lots of fascinating information about our old churches and history fir people who live too far away to visit or those who cannot walk much.
Thank you Jane.

Jane Risdon

Ely Cathedral, Cambridge (c) Jane Risdon 2013Ely Cathedral, Cambridge (c) Jane Risdon 2013

Ely Cathedral (c) Jane Risdon 2013 Ely Cathedral (c) Jane Risdon 2013

At the beginning of September I was lucky enough to have a wonderful treat.  I was given a really special weekend – as you may already know I had a fab time at Prom in the Park (see my previous blog), and on the other day I was taken to see Ely Cathedral in Cambridge.  I was so excited.  I had heard too much about it I wanted to see it for myself and on that lovely sunny Sunday we set off to visit the cathedral and the little city of Ely.  Neither the little city nor the cathedral disappointed.

A little history about the Cathedral:

There has been a church on this site since AD 673, when St. Ethelreda founded her monastery,.  She was a Saxon princess, the daughter of the King of East Anglia.  She married twice, for political…

View original post 1,524 more words

5 thoughts on “Ely in the morning – a fab day out.

Leave a Reply

