Birthday Bash Part Two: Thomas Becket, Eastbridge Hospital, and Pilgrimage

I have never visited Canterbury, so this is interesting to me.

Jane Risdon

Canterbury Cathedral (c) Jane Risdon 2015Canterbury Cathedral (c) Jane Risdon 2015

Part Two of my belated birthday bash as promised.

As you may or may not be aware, in addition to my love of writing, reading, archaeology, astronomy, and the sciences, I have a passion for history which I share with my siblings, and one in particular, my youngest brother. 

My youngest brother and his partner spoiled me rotten during a fantastic weekend spent with them celebrating my belated birthday.

Part One of my birthday bash found me having a look around Canterbury Cathedral with a special treat;

seeing the tomb of a family ancestor, William Warham, Archbishop of Canterbury (1503-1532).

I wrote about our visit to Canterbury Cathedral last time, and I posted photos I took.

William Warham Archbishop of Canterbury 1503-1532 (c) Jane Risdon 2015William Warham Archbishop of Canterbury 1503-1532 (c) Jane Risdon 2015

We had a fab time wandering around Canterbury, especially the pubs which my brother made a point of taking me in to. 

Those buildings with history and…

View original post 689 more words

4 thoughts on “Birthday Bash Part Two: Thomas Becket, Eastbridge Hospital, and Pilgrimage

  1. Thanks so much for re-blogging this – really appreciate it. Part One has photos of inside the Cathedral, which might be of interest to you as well. Let me know. 🙂

Leave a Reply

