What’s in a Name?

Reblogging this because yes, it is an interesting way to find character names. But also, it yas a daffodil.
Evelyn

disappearinginplainsight

Stained glass depiction of Salmon in Columbia River - Kootenay National Park Visitor Centre - Francis Guenette photo

So much to learn, so little time. As I edit the third and the plan the fourth novel in the Crater Lake series, I have come to the conclusion that naming characters has more to it than I realized at the start of my fiction writing days. Looking back, I have no idea how the characters in Disappearing in Plain Sight got their names. Where did Beulah come from? I have never met or heard of anyone named Beulah. The group of people who came to life in my first novel seemed to have arrived in my head with names.

I don’t necessarily advocate such an approach as I sit and ponder passages where I have Beulah, Bethany and Brigit at one table and Jeremy, Justin and Jesse all showing up in the same scene. I only wish my son had asked me sooner, “What is with all the names…

View original post 436 more words

Leave a Reply

