Second November (Brrr!) Blog

A little bit of Blue!

A little bit of Blue!

Second November Blog – 2-11-14

Colour changes. – BLUES.

Yes, blues this time ( though that encompasses green and purple too).

Those following my previous missive regarding the colour RED, will remember that there are all kinds of reds.

The same applies to the range of blues. Basically there is a medium blue starter that is used in the colour wheel. It is usually French Ultrmarine. This can be lightened by a touch of white ( here I mean white white – there are different shades of white, the same as there are different shades of black. Yes, there are. )
Of course, you do not always want the same shade of blue so it depends on how much white you add and indeed, what colour blue you want to end up with.

You may want a deeper shade of blue, then try adding a touch of black, but not much. Take it by degrees. Test it out. Do not attempt a painting if you have not tested out your colours. Make notes on how much other colour you add. I have seen it done by portions of teaspoonsful with using oil paints. Quarter, eighth and do on. Water-colour is somewhat different because you can change the depth of colour by how much water you mix the base colours with as well as with much paint you use.

You can paint, but paint strips in a small notebook, be it water-colour or oil pad so that, when you want a particular shade, all you have to do is refer to your notebook for the colour you require and the means to achieve it, already set out by your own fair hand.

OK, generally, with practice, you will be able to get from pastel blue, to light blue, to medium blue, to dark blue and to almost black/blue. With three basic colours, Ultramarine, white and black. Sounds simple! No! This is only the basic blue range. You may want a greenish blue. This is often found by adding a touch of that bright yellow I was talking about last time. This will tint your medium blue, to a greater or lesser degree into the greeny blue range. With good old white and another shade with the meerest hint of black, I do mean just a HINT.

Now here we come with the blues that morph into purple. Again, I hinted at this last time as I said, you need a blue /red to mix in with Ultramarine to make purple ( not the red red). Here comes the ever present white to tone it down to all kinds of lavender or lilac. Then to aubergine/grape etc, with a touch of black. For many of these touches, it is up to you to mix your colours beforehand so that you know what to use and the amounts, especially if you have a large area to cover.

Now, I did state last time that there were one or two colours that were hard to reproduce by the amateur painter. One of these is called Viridian. It is a type of greeny blue. It has to be said, that when I began a drawing and painting class in a local Community Centre for elderly and disabled people, I produced a large and extensive colour wheel chart. I got as near to Viridian as I could ( the same, I think, applied to turquoise, another of the weirder greeny blue colours that in Nature, I think do not really exist much, ( if you have any better knowledge, please come back to me ) but is influenced, I think, by copper. I could be wrong, but I have seen turquoise stones and copper is around in there somewhere.

The metal copper, seems to influence a lot of stones in Nature.

Anyhoo, i have looked up the blues/ greens in Google and the following, by an artist, is what was written :-

Just a small excerpt.>

Isn’t it fascinating what you can find out?!

Phthalo Blue was only just hitting the market when I stopped real painting as a hobby. So, even for me, this is interesting information and I am just as much more informed than I used to be by reading this small piece if information. Never too old to learn something new.

I never believed my information was perfect, but I know more than a lot about colour. Experimentation is the name of the game. A notepad of either water-colour paper or oil booklet, as I said before, must be your byword. Of course, you are perfectly able to set to and start painting as soon as you open your box of colours, learn by accidental process, and you may get things right, or you may make your work look totally different to what you thought it would look like. Test pallette is like scale for a singer, boring to ssit through, a necessary evil, if you will. But if you want to do it right so that, when you are at ease with mixing colours, you will, as a novice painter, be much happier with what you have now produced, then, in my humble opinion, the testing process is the way to go. You would be surprised how quickly you can learn these tricks of the trade.

You can also buy pre-mixed colours, but that will cost you a lot more money to start with. I will repeat from last time, White, Black, Red Red, Blue Red, Yellow. Become used to the names of the different colours. Find books from the Library. Read up on what makes what. Like anything, it will take time, but…..what doesn’t?

Happy Painting. (drawing too ).

Be good to everyone,

Evelyn

2 thoughts on “Second November (Brrr!) Blog

    • Ooh! Good Nissy, an thank tou. Also my purrs to you too. We humans can purr, if we really want too. Please thank your peeps too. Sh does a good job looking after you and all you other pussy pals there. Oh, don’t be like me, waych where your paws go. I stepped on brokem bottle yesterday and cut my foot badly. Hospital had to sew it up, oodles of blood flowing, on hospital floors too.
      You be careful out there.
      Hugs and human kisses, like no. 1 peeps.
      Evelyn

Leave a Reply

