Tenth October Blog

Autumn into Winter

Autumn into Winter

Tenth October Blog. – Monday 27th October.

Time to get one more in before the world turns and October spins away taking most of the autumn with it. I tend to think of November as the start of winter, depending on the weather, but often the chills begin with winds and rain. I find that when I watch the old soldiers at the Cenotaph War Memorial in London around the 11th of the month, more often than not, the old guys are dressed up against the cold and the wet, invariably.

I dread the cold weather as I feel the cold, intensely. Even before the temperatures drop seasonably, right now I feel chilly. Perhaps that is due to the fact that I am a LEO. Big cats like the sun and warmth. I do not like it above say, 26 Deg. C, so, not going mad here, I am English so I am used to lower temperatures.

Of course, not all autumns and winters are the same. I personally have known heavy snowfalls in November. Conversely, I have, on occasion, known summer temperatures in the beginning of March. It often depends on the Jet Stream. Whether it stays above the British Isles ( above does not mean up in the sky above our heads, but north, further north than Scotland ), or drops down to fly across the skys further south, say London or even the British Channel at the South coast. Temperatures also can change if winds bring weather to us from The Continent. Very hot often, in the summer but can be icy winds and freezing cold in the winter.

I rang a friend today who has read the headlines predicting a bad winter. I asked her, did she know what affected our weather and, what proof did the newpaper have to back up their statement? But, she had only read the headlines. I mean, they surely must have some prior knowledge to make such a statement, knowing that, if wrong, they can be hauled over the coals by the British public if proved to be wrong. Some people DO keep a check on such statements by way of a hobby.
So, before I go shopping for snow shoes, ski boots, and extra parkas, I want a reasonable proof of “the shape of things to come”!

Until such times, I am basking in the ambient temperatures that have descended on my part of our islands. Yes, a slight chilly breeze, but ” cor blimey, govenor! “, it is slmost the end of October. What do you expect?

My latest and pertinent Octiber poem:-

Wherefore Willow. 27-10-14

Waving green fronds are turning yellow.
Umbrella branches of the Weeping Willow
Swaying and fluttering in crisp Fall zephyrs,
Mightly stand forth like stoic Cemtaurs.
Thin greeny leaves unchain their fetters.
Whirling down like a cloud of letters.
Where the wind will take them willingly,
Into the sky, all blue and heavenly.
Only to flip in the wayward breezes,
Dipping, diving, like winter sneezes.
Returning thus, to join the throng
Of browny leaves that scud along.
Crinkling, cracking on the ground,
Dancing gaily, round and round.
Beneath the hedgerow, hiding, waiting,
Mice and hedgehogs, agitating
For their blankets, Nature given,
Before the wind, so gracefully driven.
Creatures stuff them into nests,
To keep out winter, in crinkly vests.
And when the willow sheds its gown,
Skeletal branches, seen dark brown.
Weathering harsh winter storms,
Without greenery, all forlorn.
No more leaves, the testing time
Will see its branches burst sublime
As new spring shoots merrily gladden
Each heart that sees the winter sadden.

Copyright Evelyn J. Steward. October, 2014

Not a long post and I could be accused of waffling, well, I am waffling. Been a nothing week really, apart from the house lights blowing, frightening the life out of me, and of course, biggest thing this time of year, the clocks went back on Saturday night/Sunday morning. Always a pleasure to lose an hour of afternoon/evening daylight. Brings home the fact that winter is almost here.

And on that small fact, I will end this last October blog.

Have a great Halloween, all those who celebrate. Not for any evil intent, but for a giggle for the kids and nice chocolate cake, pumpkin pie, apple dunking and like-minded pursuits.

And, as always, be good to others, be great to yourselves.

Evelyn

2 thoughts on “Tenth October Blog

  1. Hi Evelyn
    KISHBOO e-magazine is looking for volunteer article writers.
    You can promote your kindle book/paper book blog/website in your article.
    We also require volunteer book reviewers too.
    We welcome reviews of kindle books and non- fiction books. (About writing please)
    1,000 words max please for both.
    Please feel free to include images, photos of yourself, links to your blog/ website ect.
    KISHBOO is published on 3 digital formats – FREE on a website, FREE on an android app and on kindle. (77p)
    KISHBOO holds an ongoing short story competition. £3 to enter.
    Kind Regards
    Sharon, the editor.
    KISHBOO e- magazine.
    Please visit: http://www.kishboo.co.uk
    Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/kishboo.mag
    Follow us on Twitter:@kishbooMag

    • Hi Sharon, please go to my Facebook Evelyn Steward FB page and tell me more. I may be able to give you an article. I do charity writing, on occasion, as well as my own books.
      Evelyn

Leave a Reply

