Seventh October Blog. – The Colour Red.

My Pencil drawing of red poppies

My Pencil drawing of red poppies

Seventh October Blog. – 20/10/14

Journey into red.

An awsome colour. Not, I hasten to say, my particular favourite, but it does have its place in the world. We have come to synbolise it with danger. Why not? Fire is red. Fire is dangerous, viciously so. Think of volcanoes, lava, flames!

But not everything red is harmful. Poppies are red. (oK some poppies can take a person to La La Land) but most are o.k.). Of course, there are many different types of red, I am sure most of you are acquainted with that fact? Yes? No? OK. There are bright pillarbox reds ( for those not of England, pillarboxes are what we post our letters in and are a specfic true red, middle range), the kind of bright reds that adorn many ladies dresses, like the one in the film. ‘The Matrix’.

There are many shades of this particular red, so it is not a static colour. I used to paint so I am aware of colours. But through the spectrum, there are the blue/reds and the orange/reds. When I taught a group of elderly people in the local Community Centre, I had to explain this because, when mixing paint colours, you have to be aware of what goes with what and what does NOT go.

OK, lesson number one :-
There are basic colours that when mixed in certain proportions will make lots of other colours, almost to infinity.
Red, blue, yellow. Basic colours. To those will be added white and black. But my version is this – to have two types of red ( especially if you want to have lilacs -which you will not get if you just use the basic red red).
Lesson number two. :-
In my painting world, bright red and yellow will make orange, but, you try using a blue/red with yellow and you will get something approaching a muddy browny horrible colour, which is OK if you want reddish/purplish earth tones. Transposing, if you use a blue/red with yellow to get orange, you are going to be in serious trouble as again, all you will get are muddy earth tones. So you see, my theory of expanding the basic colour range to two types of red, one blue, one yellow plus black and white is the better one.
There are one or two colours which are very hard to recreate, but as they are in the blue/green range, I will leave them for the present.

Back to reds. The more orangy reds are used in many ways tonally. They will mix with a little black to get various shades of brown. Add back a touch of yellow into the mix and you can come back to ochres. The range is endless. Just a matter of trial and error. This is using a bright yellow colour as the basic yellow. The range of tones can become altogether different if you change the mix by using white instead of black, or indeed, a different shade of yellow as your baic yellow. I am wondering now if you can see how wonderful using colour can be. The colour world, as they say, is then your oyster.

The blue/reds are very important because, with these, and blue ( most blues) you can make all kinds of purple. Add white, and you are into the lilac ranges, exchange white for black and the tones deepen into the aubergines, grapes and so on.
So you see my point of having two shades of red, in themselves totally different from each other, then you will be able to create almost, say 96% of all the colours there are. OK, I hear some of you disagreeing. Your right, of course. You are entitled, but as I have stated before, this is MY blog. My viewpoint.

Hope I have not bored you out of your skulls. Take care.

Evelyn

4 thoughts on “Seventh October Blog. – The Colour Red.

    • Thank you Deb. They were only quick pencil drawings for a n exhibition. I will be putting the odd ob or two up on other blogs from time to time. Running short of photos do thought Zi would take Ipad photos of so e of my small works that I came across the other day.
      Evelyn

    • Thank you so much, Jenanita01′ so kind if you to read, and to plow through my ramblings. I m glad you liked the post. Sometimes it is a trial to think of new things to interest my readers. But colours are onwthing I o kniw about, in my point if view, of course. Others may say “what a load of tosh”, but it is not their blog, ha!
      I hope to do more colour later on. Wish I still had my colourwheel, the one I made up to tutor my pensioner group!
      Thank you once again. No, I never trained as an art tutor or anything. Thus is what I have learned going through life (and out the other side again, ha!)
      Evelyn

Leave a Reply

